RM880 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023
Hunt Number: RM880
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Legal Animal: One (1) bull with antlers
Number of Permits
|Residency||Number of Permits|
|Nonresidents||To be announced|
|Alaska residents||Up to 99999 permits|
|Total Number of Permits Available||Unlimited|
07/01/2023 - 12/31/2023
Alaska residents only
- Report harvest within 15 days of the kill date.
- Specimens Required: None
Report to ADF&G by January 15.
You may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov
1) PERMIT AVAILABILITY: Permits will be issued June 1 through July 15 at Unit 23 license vendors.
2) WHEN: Unit 23 Remainder: Aug 1 - Dec 31
Unit 23 Singoalik: Jul 1 - Dec 31
3) WHERE: Unit 23
4) BAG LIMIT: One (1) bull with antlers
5) SPECIMENS REQUIRED: None. However, voluntary submission of lower jaw containing the incisors is appreciated.
6) REQUIREMENTS: You may only kill one (1) moose per regulatory year. If you have killed a moose anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, this permit is invalid.
7) REPORTING: Successful hunters must report their harvest within 15 days of the kill date. All permit holders (both unsuccessful and those who did not hunt) are required to submit their hunt report to ADF&G by January 15. However, people hunting moose in Unit 23 under federal regulations must have either an RM880 permit or a statewide moose harvest ticket in addition to a state hunting license. Regardless of which report system you use to participate in a federal hunt, you must submit the harvest report to the state by January 15. Reports may be submitted in person at the Kotzebue ADF&G office, by telephone (907) 442-3420 or (800) 478-3420 (leave a recorded message), or online at http://hunt.alaska.gov or by prepaid mail.
8) WHO QUALIFIES: Alaska Residents.
9) SIGNATURE: You must sign your permit and comply with the permit hunt conditions and any additional restrictions found in the Alaska Hunting Regulations. You must carry your signed permit while hunting or transporting moose within the registration permit area and you must show it to any person authorized to enforce state or federal laws who requests to see it. By signing, you indicate that you understand the reporting requirements and that if you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawings, Tier II, and registration, including Tier I Nelchina Caribou) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name may be forwarded to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.
Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.